Bollettieri to be Inducted into Tennis Industry Hall of Fame

Tennis coaching legend Nick Bollettieri will be inducted into the Tennis Industry Hall of Fame on Aug. 24 at the Grand Hyatt New York. Bollettieri, one of the world’s most famous coaches, will be honored for his significant impact on tennis.

A coach, businessman, motivator and educator, Bollettieri has worked with players of all age ranges and skill levels, coaching 10 world No. 1 players—Andre Agassi, Boris Becker, Jim Courier, Martina Hingis, Jelena Jankovic, Marcelo Rios, Monica Seles, Maria Sharapova, Serena Williams and Venus Williams.

Bollettieri started the Nick Bollettieri Tennis Academy in 1978, and in the process, he developed a style and method of coaching and training that has revolutionized tennis instruction. The Bradenton, Fla., academy was the first major tennis boarding school, and it changed the way tennis was taught at the elite junior level.

“I am thrilled to be honored by the tennis industry,” Bollettieri said. “I’ve dedicated my life to helping players of all ages and abilities enjoy the sport of tennis. It’s quite an honor to be recognized by this industry in this way.”

The 4th Annual Tennis Industry Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the Tennis Industry Association (TIA) Forum, which is part of The Tennis Show at the Grand Hyatt New York on the Friday before the US Open begins. Hundreds of tennis industry leaders, teaching pros, manufacturers, and retailers are expected to attend the TIA Forum.

“We’re excited that Nick will join our industry’s Hall of Fame,” said TIA President Jon Muir. “He’s very deserving of this honor, and of our recognition for all he’s done to move the game of tennis forward in this country. His years of success in teaching tennis to players at every level and at every age, and his public support of the key 10 and Under Tennis initiative, sends an important message not just to this industry, but also to tennis players and potential players.”

Bollettieri joins previous Tennis Industry Hall of Fame inductees Howard Head (2008), Dennis Van der Meer (2008), Alan Schwartz (2009), and Billie Jean King (2010). Plaques of Tennis Industry Hall of Fame inductees are on permanent display at the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, R.I.