International Tennis Hall of Fame Elects New Officers

NEWPORT, R.I., December 20, 2018 - Michael F. Goss, Executive Vice President and CFO of Sotheby's, has been elected Chairman of the Board of Governors of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, following his three-year term as Vice Chairman. Goss succeeds John Arnhold, who is concluding a three-year term as Chairman. Charlie Pasarell, a longtime tennis industry leader and a 2013 inductee of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, has been elected Vice Chairman. 

Additionally, 11 individuals hailing from varied backgrounds in business, media, and philanthropy, and all with a shared passion for the sport of tennis, have been elected to the Board of Governors of the International Tennis Hall of Fame. Stan Smithremains in the role of International Tennis Hall of Fame President, Laurie Erlandson continues her term as Treasurer, and Jim Citrin has been elected Secretary. 

The new governors are Ray Arckey, Vice President/General Manager of Duracell; Lisa Baird, CMO of New York Public Radio; Elizabeth Brook, Director with Noodle Analytics; Frank Brosens, co-founder of Taconic Capital; Gigi Fernandez, Hall of Famer and former doubles world No. 1; Pascale Hainline, Vice President of Global Wealth Management for Merrill Lynch; Jean-Marc Huët, former CFO of Unilever; Deborah Slaner Larkin, an experienced non-profit leader and former CEO of the Women's Sports Foundation; Mounia Mechbal, Vice President of Marketing and Communications for Rolex USA, North America; Marko Mlakar, Managing Partner of Amrop Adria, an executive search firm operating in the Slovenian, Croatian, Bosnian & Herzegovinian, Serbian, and Macedonian markets; and Jeff Zucker, President and CEO of CNN Worldwide.

The new officers and governors will officially begin their terms on January 1, 2019. 

During Arnhold's term he led the organization in developing a refreshed mission and implementing a new long-range strategic plan focused on customer engagement, philanthropic efforts, and broadening the organization's reach globally. Additionally, during Arnhold's tenure, the Hall of Fame conducted a comprehensive review and subsequent update to the policies and procedures that govern the induction process. Several new initiatives were introduced during Arnhold's chairmanship, including a significant project to digitize the vast museum collection, the introduction of Fan Voting for Hall of Fame induction, and the recent launch of a National Junior Tennis & Learning chapter at the Hall of Fame. 

Incoming Chairman Goss commented, "I am excited and honored to have been elected chairman of the International Tennis Hall of Fame. I've loved tennis for as long as I can remember, and I am inspired by the Hall of Fame's other governors and by how our organization is evolving in new ways to be of service to the sport. My predecessor John Arnhold has taken the Hall of Fame to new heights in terms of outreach, technology, and philanthropic service. His are big shoes to fill, and I am eager to get started and to work with Vice Chairman Charlie Pasarell, Hall of Fame CEO Todd Martin, and the entire board and staff to guide the organization into the future."

Goss joined the Hall of Fame Board in 2011. He has been an active member of the Executive Board and a broad range of other board committees, and in 2015, he was elected Vice Chairman. During his service to date, Goss has taken a leadership role in oversight of the non-profit organization's financial sustainability and strategic planning efforts to grow the Hall of Fame's work to preserve and promote the history of tennis and to honor its great champions.

Goss joined Sotheby's as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer in March 2016. Previously, he was with Bain Capital for 15 years in various capacities including Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer, during which time Bain Capital grew from $10 billion to $70 billion in assets. Goss graduated with a bachelor's degree in economics from Kansas State University where he played varsity tennis, and he earned his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School. In addition to the Hall of Fame, he is a Trustee of Kansas State University and a member of the Board of Directors of Platform Specialty Products.

Vice Chairman Charlie Pasarell has been a driving force in the growth of tennis at all levels for well over 40 years, and he was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2013 in recognition of his transformative contributions to the sport. He is the past Tournament Director, Managing Partner, and former owner of the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, Calif. He was a co-founder of the ATP in 1972, and served as the tournament representative on the ATP board from 1990 - 2010. In 1969, Pasarell partnered with Arthur Ashe and Sheridan Snyder to create the National Junior Tennis League, which evolved to today's 350+ chapter strong National Junior Tennis & Learning network, which utilizes the sport as a vehicle to develop positive life skills among young people. Like many tennis leaders, Pasarell got his start in the sport as a player, reaching the No. 1 ranking in the United States in 1967.