Three to Enter Tennis Industry Hall of Fame

Three industry leaders will be honored with induction into the Tennis Industry Hall of Fame in 2013. Howard R. Gill Jr., Walter Montenegro, and Sheldon Westervelt will join previous inductees Howard Head (2008), Dennis Van der Meer (2008), Alan Schwartz (2009), Billie Jean King (2010) and Nick Bollettieri (2011).

Gill, who passed away in 1996, was the former publisher of Tennis Magazine and was named an honorary lifetime TIA member in 1988. Tennis and racquet sports industry innovator Montenegro was 100 years old when he died in 2009, and was named an honorary lifetime member in 1983.

Professional engineer Sheldon Westervelt still consults on sports facility projects and has overseen the design and construction of nearly 7,000 tennis projects around the world. A life member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, Westervelt was a founder of the U.S. Tennis Court & Track Builders Association in 1964, which later became the American Sports Builders Association.

Plaques of Tennis Industry Hall of Fame inductees are on permanent display at the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, R.I.


From Left to Right: Gill (photo courtesy of Golf Digest), Montenegro, Westerveldt