USTA Names Davis Cup Team

You are here: Home / News / USTA Names Davis Cup Team

The USTA and U.S. Davis Cup Captain Jim Courier announced that top-ranked American and world No. 13 John Isner, world No. 51 Sam Querrey and the world’s No. 1 doubles team of Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan will represent the United States in the 2014 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas First Round tie against Great Britain. The best-of-five rubber series will be played on a temporary clay court in left field at Petco Park in San Diego January 31-February 2.

Reigning Wimbledon champion Andy Murray is expected to compete for Great Britain.

The best-of-five rubber series begins Friday, January 31, at 11 a.m. PT, with two singles rubbers, featuring each country’s No. 1 player against the other country’s No. 2 player. Saturday’s schedule features the pivotal doubles rubber at noon. The final day of play on Sunday, also beginning at 11 a.m. PT, will feature two “reverse singles” rubbers, when the No. 1 players square off followed by the No. 2 players meeting each other in the final rubber. All rubbers are best-of-five sets until one nation clinches the tie. A revised schedule for Sunday may take place if a team clinches in the third or fourth rubber.

The winner of this tie will play the Italy-Argentina winner in the Quarterfinals.